Iowa Association of School Librarians

Iowa Association of School Librarians Website


The mission of the Iowa Association of School Librarians is to promote life-long learning and literacy in all its forms through active advocacy for school librarians and media specialists, media and technology professionals and library educators. Specifically the Iowa Association of School Librarians will:


  • Articulate a vision for school library media programs in Iowa.
  • Support the professional development of its members.
  • Advocate for the school library/media program within the educational community, with governmental bodies and the public, emphasizing the connection between quality school library programs and student achievement.
  • Work to promote reading and information literacy in our schools.
  • Promote the effective use of media and technology in the schools.
  • Support state and national guidelines for school library media programs.
  • Consult with the Department of Education and the State Library regarding certification of school library media personnel, and standards for staffing, facilities and collections.

Who would benefit from membership?

Anyone interested in school libraries and information literacy

2020 Subdivision Officers

Jenahlee Chamberlain

Vice President/President-Elect

Katy Kauffman
Past President

Jen Keltner

Miranda Kral

At Large Board Member - Membership

Michelle Kruse 
At Large Board Member - ILA Rep

Jill Hofmockel
At Large Board Member - AASL Rep

        Ericka Raber
        Executive Board Liaison

Click here for a list of subdivision members