Iowa Association of School Librarians

Iowa Association of School Librarians Website


The mission of the Iowa Association of School Librarians is to promote life-long learning and literacy in all its forms through active advocacy for school librarians and media specialists, media and technology professionals and library educators. Specifically the Iowa Association of School Librarians will:


  • Articulate a vision for school library media programs in Iowa.
  • Support the professional development of its members.
  • Advocate for the school library/media program within the educational community, with governmental bodies and the public, emphasizing the connection between quality school library programs and student achievement.
  • Work to promote reading and information literacy in our schools.
  • Promote the effective use of media and technology in the schools.
  • Support state and national guidelines for school library media programs.
  • Consult with the Department of Education and the State Library regarding certification of school library media personnel, and standards for staffing, facilities and collections.

Who would benefit from membership?

Anyone interested in school libraries and information literacy

2018 Subdivision Officers

Valerie Ehlers

Erin Faas
Vice President/President-Elect

Sarah Staudt
Past President

Jen Keltner

Alicia Patten
Awards Committee Chair

Miranda Kral

At Large Board Member

Michelle Kruse
At Large Board Member

Click here for a list of subdivision members 


2017 IASL Spring Conference
April 2-3, 2017

West Des Moines Marriott
1250 Jordan Creek Parkway - West Des Moines

Keynote Speakers - Jordan Sonnenblick and Joyce Valenza

Click here for more information, to register online or download a PDF registration form. 

Online registration available by clicking here.




Article Index